Traumatic Rhabdomyolysis

Download this tip

The diagnosis of rhabdomyolysis can be further specified as traumatic when medically appropriate.

Examples of traumatic rhabdomyolysis include:

  • Multiple trauma
  • Crush injury
  • Vascular or orthopedic surgery
  • Coma
  • Immobilization
    • Traumatic rhabdomyolysis may be appropriate when secondary to a fall among the elderly that results in immobility due to the inability to get up for several hours.

    The associated ICD-10-CM code for traumatic rhabdomyolysis is T79.6- which maps to “traumatic ischemia of muscle.” Although traumatic rhabdomyolysis does not add a CC or MCC, it does change the associated MS-DRG when assigned as the principal diagnosis and may better support the medical necessity of the admission.

    Reference: AHA Coding Clinic® for ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS 2019, Issue 2

    Download the complete tip, Traumatic Rhabdomyolysis.